Mukherjee to be sworn-in as 13th Indian President on Wednesday

Chief Justice of India SH Kapadia will administer the oath to President-elect Mukherjee at 11:30am on Wednesday

New Delhi: Pranab Mukherjee will be sworn in as the 13th Indian President on Wednesday at a special ceremony in the Central Hall of Parliament, reports PTI.
Chief Justice of India SH Kapadia will administer the oath to Mukherjee at 11:30am in the presence of Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Union Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers and a host of dignitaries, a Home Ministry communique said.
The function will begin with the arrival of outgoing President Pratibha Patil and President-elect Mukherjee in a ceremonial procession from the Rashtrapati Bhawan to the Parliament Building. They will be received by Kapadia, Ansari and Kumar and escorted to the Central Hall.
After Mukherjee takes over, he will be given a 21-gun salute, address the gathering and then leave for the Rashtrapati Bhawan with Patil.
Mukherjee will be given an inter-services guard of honour in the forecourt of the Presidential palace.
He will then escort Patil to her temporary accommodation on Tughlak Lane where she will stay till her post-retirement home in Pune is ready.
Free Helpline
Legal Credit