MahaRERA evaluates complaints from home-buyers and rules against builders in four cases
Home buyers Mukul and Teena Jain, Rajkumar and Rekha Bhatia, Rohini and Manoj Thalve, Prakash and Jyoti Sutar, Rajesh and Harsha Gada, Ashok and Indira Karanth, and Vishal Ambani lodged complaints with MahaRERA (Maharashtra Real Estate Regulatory Authority) that the developer, Kumar Builder Mumbai Realty Ltd had failed to give possession by 31 March 2015, and had put a revised date of December 13, 2019 while registering with MahaRERA. The home buyers sought interest on their investments, and compensation for delay in possession, according to a report in Times of India.
 
Adjudicating officer and MahaRERA chairman Gautam Chatterjee asked the developer, Kumar Builder Mumbai Realty Pvt Ltd to advance its possession deadline from December 2019 to 15 September 2018 and said that the developer would be liable to pay interest if he fails to deliver possession by that date.
 
In a separate case, Sujata Hendre had complained that Ekta Parksville Homes Pvt Ltd had failed to deliver possession of her apartment in Brooklyn in Ekta Parksville Phase II by June 15, 2015, and with the revised deadline of October 31, 2019, she did not wish to continue in the project, according to Times of India.
 
Citing Rule 4(2) of Maharashtra Real Estate Rules which states that the possession date should be commensurate with the extent of development work pending, Chatterjee ruled that the developer should hand over possession for the apartment before July 2018 and directed that if he fails, he would be liable to pay interest.
 
Two separate complaints came to MahaRERA from Sneha and Satish Parkar and Suresh Sohani against delayed possession by Nandraj Developers Pvt Ltd. The home buyers had complained that the developer had promised possession by 31 March 2014. Chatterjee of MahaRERA asked the developer to deliver possession by 31 January 2018, failing which they would be liable to pay interest. He also directed the developer to form and register the society, as more than 51% apartments had been sold. 
 
Home buyer Jyotindra Kansara had claimed in his complaint that the developer, Adani Estates Private Limited, had failed to provide possession by May 2017, as was committed by them. The developer claimed that no specific date of possession was committed in the agreements, but he was committed to give possession by June 2018 as mentioned on MahaRERA website. Chatterjee directed the developer to hand over possession by 30 June 2018 along with occupancy certificate, failing which he would liable to pay interest.
 
  • User

    COMMENTS

    Ramesh I

    2 years ago

    The RERA law and its rules have been hugely diluted by most States, as much of the illicit income of politicians and corrupt officials is parked in real estate in India. There are many provisions in the law and the Rules which are heavily in favor of Real Estate Developers (REDs). E.g. who only 70% of amount paid by home-buyers should be in an escrow a/c ? Why not the entire 100%, so that the RED is forced to use it ONLY to develop the Project s/he's taken the money for ? Why have the REDs been allowed to defer tentative possession dates by many years while registering on-going projects with MahaRERA ?
    The RERA law and its Rules will not help home-buyers get their due from unscrupulous rogue REDs. The law & rules need to be amended to make it fair.

    IndiGo Passengers Beware!
    Aditya Ghosh, President of IndiGo Airlines, has led the massive fire-fighting effort that was required after a video of its ground staff assaulting and pinning a passenger to the ground went viral. Unfortunately for him, consumer complaints continue to hit social media at a greater velocity than his PR team can place interviews  in the media stories of how the airline is re-training its staff on handling customers. But here are a few things to watch out for, the next time you fly IndiGo, or, probably, any of the budget airlines. 
     
    1. A WhatsApp message going around suggests that IndiGo staffers deliberately allow people standing in check-in queues to miss flights (despite requests for help) and offer to place them on the next flight at an extremely high rate. Since this almost happened to one of our colleagues, we have no reason to disbelieve it. This is scary for students, or low-budget travellers, who have got cheap fares by booking well in advance. Please note that even when you have a refundable ticket, the actual refund would be just a few hundred rupees. 
     
    2. A Mumbai activist, Achintya Mukherjee, while travelling from Jaipur to Mumbai with his wife, took the precaution of weighing their handbags at home to ensure that hey were within the 14kg limit (it was 12kg). When weighed at the counter, it showed 19kg and an excess baggage charge was demanded. Mr Mukherjee called in the supervisor. He says, “After fiddling around with the machine, the weight showed correctly.” His advice to passengers is to weigh their baggage at home before departing and check in well in time, to avoid being forced to pay extra at the last minute. One needs to have enough time for a complaint and verification!
     
    3. Mr Mukherjee’s wife (73) has a back problem and issues with her knee, so they requested a wheelchair almost 10 days before the flight (6E 339) even though the airline’s website asks passengers to do so 48 hours before the flight. He was told that IndiGo has only four wheelchairs and all of them were booked 10 days before the scheduled departure. Please note, that all new airports involve long walks that are hard for senior citizens. Despite paying airport taxes,  airport buggies are hard to find even for elders. Isn’t it strange that neither the airline nor Airport Authority of India is under any obligation to make arrangements (even at an additional charge)?
     
    4. Musicians and sports persons—as evidenced by issues faced by badminton star, PV Sindhu, and Sarod maestro, Amjad Ali Khan—face innumerable hardships, from paying extra, to having their equipment dumped carelessly. But, here, IndiGo actually comes out a little better than the others. Along with Jet Airways and Air India, it does not charge extra (anymore) for musical instruments and does not send them on the luggage belt. 
     
  • Like this story? Get our top stories by email.

    User

    COMMENTS

    Santanu Rath

    2 years ago

    Indigo Employees lack the training of customer care. Lack of education is the problem. Passengers are being harassed by some means or other. At Chennai and Hyderabad airports the Gates for departure are changed very frequently and Airlines is careless for the passengers to help in boarding in the right gate. Passengers miss flights and are harassed. Govt. should take up the issue.

    Rajan Mathew

    2 years ago

    While Indigo is attempting suicidal management, airlines like SpiceJet are trying to improve and impress their customers. Yesterday Spicejet delayed one of their Mumbai Bangalore flight to depart delayed for accommodating a few of my son's group who got trapped in a traffic jam.

    Murali Ratnam

    2 years ago

    thank you for the alert .We are senior citizens & we have booked flight for trip to Hyderabad through Indigo.
    We will be extra caredful

    Kumar Swamy

    2 years ago

    Time to open up airline industry even more for a lot more competition.

    Shashi K Singh

    2 years ago

    Good plane better than air India and Jet, but poor customer serv8ce

    Shashi K Singh

    2 years ago

    Best plane in service,but requires good handling at all service point. Your people look for making money, a second late I have to board a new flight by paying 20000 for Delhi to Kolkata flight. Your booking counters need to be a customer friendly

    ramdas naik

    2 years ago

    There is one more issue. The airline starts boarding early much before time and make passengers wait in the plane for 30 mins before take off.

    Fourier_series

    2 years ago

    I was travelling withy mother and we were standing in the queue and when our turn came, they refused to take us in..we were right on time and they could have accommodated us...but we were forced to take the next flight at an elevated ticket cost...I had a feeling that they could have taken us in ...

    Madhusudana Reddy M

    2 years ago

    I also faced similar issue when indigo airlines staff did not allow to board the flight which is just infront me saying the gates are closed.I had to wait along with my family for 7 hours to catch next flight(indigo staff only accommdated with increased ticket price) ..

    Customer experience taking centre stage, but brands are lagging: Report
    Despite increasing number of brands, the overall satisfaction levels of consumers across industries has been low, with over 39% customers from total population showing no satisfaction from their overall interaction with the brands, says a survey report.
     
    In its second edition of customer experience series- 'The State of CX in India', Hansa Cequity found that retail, healthcare, airline and automotive were laggards especially when it came to information completeness. It was only the financial sector that performed better than other industries.
     
     
    S Swaminathan, Co-Founder and CEO, Hansa Cequity, says, "Consumer dynamics are changing. It is imperative that organisations first develop customer experience vision and strategy with a 'customer first' principle and then work backwards towards technology and tools. The world of online and offline are blurring, new channels of interactions are emerging; omnichannel strategy will play a huge role in improving customer experience."
     
     
    According to the Report, consumers in the age group of 25-40 years on an average were more dissatisfied as compared to other age groups; consumers above 40 years of age were more satisfied with their interaction with brands. However, the dissatisfaction levels of the youth between the age group of 18-25 years is the highest in metros, reveals the report. Education is playing a vital role in the satisfaction levels among consumers, higher the education; higher is the level of satisfaction, it added.
     
     
    The report covers four customer experience metrics- ease of interaction, relevance of the information provided, accuracy of information and completeness of the information. 
     
    Digital and technology has given rise to newer touch points and self-service options across web and mobile apps. However, as per the report, offline transactions continue to play a significant role when it comes to delivering unique customer experiences. It says, "Only 14% of consumers were fully satisfied with their interaction with company representatives and over 46% were not satisfied with the knowledge of the company representatives during their interactions. Traditional voice based interactions were found to be most effective. This year, mobile apps and social media engagements have been more effective than email based interactions. Over 81% of consumers received responses within the same day on social media and only three per cent of did not receive a response from the brand."
     
    The Hansa Cequity report also reveals that overall satisfaction levels of consumers across industries has been low, over 39% of the total population are not satisfied with their overall interaction with the brands. Only 21% of the respondents were completely satisfied. About 47% of consumers felt that the information provided to them during their interaction was not complete, it added.
  • Like this story? Get our top stories by email.

    User

    COMMENTS

    Roshan Tatiya

    1 year ago

    I was denied to board the flight even after being at the airport checkin counter early for the 11:40pm flight.
    Your agent at the check in counter gave me a run around as they were asking me to go to different counter one after other.After reaching to the last counter at Your Agent Dipika Thakur took my bags weight which was 19.6kg and was about to give me my boarding pass suddenly your Agent Prasad More came to dipika thakur and bluntly said we cannot check me in.I told them that i have my connecting flight from Ahmedabad to Doha qatar where i had paid already and i cannot miss my connecting flight they started laughing and said do what ever you want,we will not check you in ,when asked the Ladies name she said very rudely that "her name is Deepika Thakur go and complaint to anyone nothing will happen to me" Same statement was used by Prasad..when asked for a manager I was made to wait for more than 1 hour and 50 mins to talk to manager,
    Passenger behind me who had to board the flight due to the death in the family your agent Prasad more told him that if there was a death in the family he should have come well in advance.Both Prasad More and Dipika Thakur were having a laugh at me when i requested them to check me in.I missed my connecting flight because of your agent Dipika Thakur,Prasad More and Anand saidto me be my guest if you want to complaint as Anand said he is working there for 20 years.i want my refund and compensation.i have recordings if need proofs.i don't feel safe with Indigo.
    Booking reference number : 1809812406477
    PNR number: Vjdprn

    Hopefully someone will get back to me from Indigo if you care about the Passenger's.
    Will wait for the reply as I want indigo to do two things for the inconvenience
    1) I want my refund of Rs 2651/- for flight from Pune to Ahmedabad which I was made to miss by your staff at the check-in counter.
    2) i also want compensation for the flight I missed which was from Ahmedabad to Doha have attached my reservation details for the connecting flight to Doha which I paid Rs 25000/-
    And I had to take another flight to Delhi from Pune and booked another flight to Doha from Delhi.

    (In spite of being on time at the check-in counter,
    I was forced to miss the flight by your staff Dipika Thakur ,Prasad More and Anand.
    May be because I got a lowest fare online)
    And your staff was forcing me to buy the next expensive flight..I was all alone by myself at the airport and no staff was willing to help me.



    Hope the new interim CEO Rahul Bhatia is aware about the same as I will also be publishing my views about Indigo and it's arrogant staff on social media as well.


    Thanks and Regards
    Irut Shaikh.

    We are listening!

    Solve the equation and enter in the Captcha field.
      Loading...
    Close

    To continue


    Please
    Sign Up or Sign In
    with

    Email
    Close

    To continue


    Please
    Sign Up or Sign In
    with

    Email

    BUY NOW

    online financial advisory
    Pathbreakers
    Pathbreakers 1 & Pathbreakers 2 contain deep insights, unknown facts and captivating events in the life of 51 top achievers, in their own words.
    online financia advisory
    The Scam
    24 Year Of The Scam: The Perennial Bestseller, reads like a Thriller!
    Moneylife Online Magazine
    Fiercely independent and pro-consumer information on personal finance
    financial magazines online
    Stockletters in 3 Flavours
    Outstanding research that beats mutual funds year after year
    financial magazines in india
    MAS: Complete Online Financial Advisory
    (Includes Moneylife Online Magazine)
    FREE: Your Complete Family Record Book
    Keep all the Personal and Financial Details of You & Your Family. In One Place So That`s Its Easy for Anyone to Find Anytime
    We promise not to share your email id with anyone