Maharashtra revokes suspension of five legislators who assaulted a cop
Moneylife Digital Team 24 July 2013
The state Legislative Assembly, which suspended five MLAs for assaulting Sachin Suryawanshi in the Vidhan Bhavan premises in March, revoked the suspension in its ongoing Monsoon session
The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly on Wednesday revoked suspension of the five legislators (MLAs) who had allegedly assaulted a police officer in the assembly premises in March this year.
Maharashtra's minister for parliamentary affairs Harshwardhan Patil informed the House that the suspension was being revoked after a meeting of group leaders of parties and following the recommendations of the committee formed under the chairmanship of senior legislator Ganpatrao Deshmukh to investigate the incident.
Five MLAs Ram Kadam (MNS), Kshitij Thakur (Bahujan Vikas Aghadi), Rajan Salvi (Shiv Sena), Pradeep Jaiswal (Independent) and Jaykumar Raval (BJP) were suspended in the Budget Session of the state legislature after beating up policeman Sachin Suryawanshi in the Vidhan Bhavan premises.
The police officer had been beaten up a day after he stopped Thakur’s vehicle and imposed a fine for over-speeding on the Bandra-Worli Sea link.
An FIR was registered on 19 March 2013 at the Marine Drive police station against Thakur, Kadam and 14 others in this case. Both Thakur and Kadam were booked for assaulting, criminal intimidation and rioting and were arrested on 21st March. However, on 25th March, the court granted them bail.
When the monsoon session of the State legislature began this month, the Opposition had demanded that as the policeman in question has resumed duty, the suspension of the MLAs should also be revoked. Speaker Dilip Walse Patil had then said it was up to the Government and the Opposition to take a call.
Free Helpline
Legal Credit