In a stunning reversal of fortunes, Vikas (69kg) was ousted after AIBA overturned the result of his pre-quarterfinal bout that he had won, following a review
London: Stunned by Vikas Krishan's ouster from the Olympic Games following a reversal of decision by the International Boxing Association (AIBA), Indian Chef-de-Mission PK Muralidharan Raja on Saturday said the country's contingent will not take AIBA's decision lying down even though it has 'limited options' in the matter, reports PTI.
In a stunning reversal of fortunes, Vikas (69kg) was ousted after AIBA overturned the result of his pre-quarterfinal bout that he had won, following a review.
The 20-year-old had won 13-11 over Errol Spence in a thrilling contest Friday night but following an appeal by his rival's team management, the AIBA awarded the bout 15-13 to the American citing the fouls committed by the Indian which were not noticed by the referee.
Raja, also the Indian Boxing Federation's Secretary General, said the team will not accept the decision.
"I will be meeting the Indian boxing team at 10:00 am (2:30pm IST) and then we will decide the future course of action," Raja told PTI.
"The decision has been overturned but it's not as if we cannot do anything about it," he insisted.
But Raja admitted that there were not too many options in front of the team after the world body's review and reversal of the original decision.
"In such cases, the jury decision is final. Because they replay the bout and go through it very closely before deciding whether to stick to the original decision or overturn it. Not many options are there but let's see. We will still try to find a way forward," he said. .
Earlier, the AIBA cited fouls committed by Vikas as the reason for overturning his 13-11 win.
"There were a total of nine (9) holding fouls committed by the Indian boxer in the third round alone. However the Referee only gave one caution," the AIBA said in a statement after a review by its Competition Jury.
"In the second round, at the time 02:38, the boxer from India spitted out his gumshield intentionally. However the Referee didn't give any warning," it added.
Based on these "findings", the jury members "unanimously" decided to award Spence four points, thereby making him the winner.
"Based on the AIBA Technical & Competition Rules 12.1.9, the Referee should have given at least two (2) warnings to the Indian boxer. Although the boxer from India intentionally spitted out his gumshield, the Referee's view was blocked by the boxer from the USA and was not able to see the action," the international body said.
"...at least four points should have been awarded to the boxer from the USA. Therefore the final score should be 13:15 in favour of the USA. The protest is accepted and the winner of Bout 142 is Errol Spence (USA)," the AIBA statement added
It would be prudent to exit long positions in any further rise and those with a penchant for high risk can initiate shorts close to the resistance levels with appropriate stop loss in place
S&P Nifty close: 5,215.70
Short Term: Sideways Medium Term: Down Long Term: Down
TRAI proposed to levy penalty of Rs10,000 in the cases where contravention from rules is...