Mutual Funds
Sector Schemes: Winners & Losers of 2012

Banking did the best, technology the worst

Banking stocks were among the top performers...

Premium Content
Monthly Digital Access


Already A Subscriber?
Yearly Digital+Print Access


Moneylife Magazine Subscriber or MSSN member?

Yearly Subscriber Login

Enter the mail id that you want to use & click on Go. We will send you a link to your email for verficiation
Karnataka crisis: 2 ministers from the BJP govt resign; 11 more MLAs ready to quit

A cloud of uncertainty has been hanging over the Shettar ministry ever since Yeddyurappa quit the party to float his KJP in December last as the ministers who resigned and 11 MLAs who are ready to quit are loyalists of the former BJP strongman


Bangalore: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in Karnataka on Wednesday plunged into a fresh crisis with two ministers resigning and 11 more members of the legislative assembly (MLAs), all loyal to former party strongman BS Yeddyurappa, deciding to quit their assembly membership, reports PTI.


Hours after public works minister CM Udasi and energy minister Shobha Karandlaje gave their resignations to chief minister Jagadish Shettar, the two along with 11 MLAs went to the assembly speaker’s office to submit their resignation.


As neither speaker KG Bopaiah, who was not in station, nor the assembly legislature secretary Omprakash were present when the MLAs arrived and waited for an hour, an enraged Yeddyurappa rushed there, insisting that the Shettar government had been reduced to a minority.


In a high drama, the agitated MLAs insisted that some official of assembly secretariat either receive their resignation letters or give an acknowledgement that they are not empowered to receive them.


Assembly joint secretary Jayatheertha Galali told the MLAs “as joint secretary I can’t accept it. Please come and submit resignations when th espeaker comes to office”.


Yeddyurappa, who recently floated the Karnataka Janata Party (KJP), said: “Shettar government has been reduced to a minority. He has no moral right to continue in office. He should call off his tour, return to the city and resign.”


Yeddyurappa also attacked Bopaiah, who, he said, had been alerted yesterday about the resignation of MLAs, but has left on a tour.


“It is a shameless government. Shettar should meet the governor and tender resignation of his government”, he said.


“We will tell the governor that this government cannot continue in office as it has been reduced to a minority”.


Shettar, who left on an official tour in parts of North Karnataka, confirmed that the two ministers have resigned.


Udasi said they have been hurt by the attitude of Shettar towards MLAs and ministers supporting Yeddyurappa, adding, the time has come to build KJP.


A cloud of uncertainty has been hanging over the Shettar ministry ever since Yeddyurappa quit the party to float his KJP in December last. The former BJP strongman has repeatedly put the government on notice about their stability, claiming support of 20-30 BJP MLAs.


Yeddyurappa’s party had set two deadlines earlier to unseat the government but they turned out to be damp squibs.


Brushing aside the threats to his government, Shettar has said he would present the state budget on 8th February, the last ahead of assembly polls due in May.


The MLAs who have offered to quit are CM Udasi, Nehru Olekar, Thippeswamy, BP Harish, H Halappa, Suresh Gowda Patil, Shobha Karandlaje, SI Chikkangoudar, Suresh, G Shivanna, Chandrappa, VS Patil and Basavaraj Patil Attur.



Rajnath Singh is new president of BJP

Rajnath Singh emerged as the consensus candidate last night after Gadkari dramatically opted out of the race for a second term. He takes the baton back from Gadkari whom he handed it over in 2009


New Delhi: Rajnath Singh was on Wednesday unanimously elected president of thet Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), capping last minute dramatic turn of events which saw Nitin Gadkari being forced out of the race for the second term, reports PTI.


The 61-year-old senior party leader from Uttar Pradesh takes the baton back from Nitin Gadkari whom he handed over the post in 2009.


Singh, who emerged as the consensus candidate last night after Gadkari dramatically opted out of the race for a second term, was the only candidate to file the nominations and was declared elected unopposed.


Gadkari was among the first ones to wish the new party president soon after the announcement by election officer Thawar Chand Gehlot in the presence of top party leaders including LK Advani, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and Venkaiah Naidu.


Gadkari, whose candidature was being pushed strongly by Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), suddenly quit the race in the midst of allegations of impropriety by his company Purti Group.


After taking over, Rajnath Singh said, “I accept this not as a post, but as a responsibility” and said he would take the battle to a decisive end by bringing the BJP to power.


He said he was taking over in not very conducive conditions in the wake of allegations levelled against the outgoing chief Nitin Gadkari.


Singh said though the party wanted Gadkari to continue as party president for a second term, but he took a moral high by deciding not to contest for a second term till his name was cleared of all charges.


The new Chief exuded confidence of steering the party in the forthcoming assembly elections in various states later this year and expressed the hope to see formation of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) regime led by BJP in the next general elections.


We are listening!

Solve the equation and enter in the Captcha field.

To continue

Sign Up or Sign In


To continue

Sign Up or Sign In



The Scam
24 Year Of The Scam: The Perennial Bestseller, reads like a Thriller!
Moneylife Magazine
Fiercely independent and pro-consumer information on personal finance
Stockletters in 3 Flavours
Outstanding research that beats mutual funds year after year
MAS: Complete Online Financial Advisory
(Includes Moneylife Magazine and Lion Stockletter)